Pros advice

McIlroy voted PGA Tour Player of the Year for second time in three seasons

Rory McIlroy has been voted the PGA Tour Player of the Year for the second time in three years, edging out Martin Kaymer, Jimmy Walker and Billy Horschel in the process.

The Northern Irishman has racked up some very impressive wins this season, including victory at the European Tour’s flagship BMW PGA Championship in May. He then captured The Open Championship at Royal Liverpool and PGA Championship at Valhalla, with victory in the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational sandwiched between the two in a four-week spell stretching across July and August.

More awards have also come McIlroy’s way this season as he led the Tour with 12 top-10 finishes and never finished worse than 25th in his 17 Tour starts as he topped the money list with a whopping $8.28million to secure the prestigious Arnold Palmer award.

He has also won the Byron Nelson Trophy for attaining the lowest adjusted scoring average of 68.827.

McIlroy said: "It means a lot to win it for the second time in three years. Being voted player of the year by your peers is something that's very important.

"They are the guys you are trying to beat week in, week out and if they appreciate what you have done over the year, see the hard work that you've put in and the golf that you've played and think that's been the best of the season that means a lot to me.

"I would like to win a lot more in my career and even though the last year wasn't what I wanted, the last three or four years have been very, very good and it gives me even more motivation to go on and work harder and try to win more tournaments, more majors and be involved in more Ryder Cups like last week."

PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem told the official website: “My congratulations to Rory and Chesson for their outstanding accomplishments that earned them season-ending honours from their peers.

“Both players earned their awards with their consistent and steady play throughout the season.”